Our Leadership

Senior Staff
Lynn M. Kelly

Executive Director of the City Bar Justice Center lkelly@nycbar.org

Lynn M. Kelly, J.D., is the Executive Director of the City Bar Justice Center, a division of the City Bar Fund which is the 501(c) (3) affiliate of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, one of the largest and most influential local bar associations in the nation. The Justice Center’s mission is to mobilize the legal community to help bridge the justice gap. The Justice Center recruits, trains and mentors pro bono attorneys to provide free legal representation, community education and advice to more than 20,000 low-income New Yorkers. The Justice Center matches over a thousand pro bono cases each year leveraging $17 million in free legal services to the poor. Ms. Kelly is experienced in designing and operating effective civil legal programs for low income clients including leading MFY Legal Services for nine years, serving as a litigator and manager with the Civil Division of The Legal Aid Society and teaching litigation skills in Fordham, New York University and New York law schools’ clinical law programs. J.D. New York University School of Law; B.A. Mount Holyoke College.

Read more
Suzanne Tomatore

Deputy Director of the City Bar Justice Center stomatore@nycbar.org

Suzanne Tomatore has been Deputy Director of the City Bar Justice Center since July 2019. Ms. Tomatore has worked at the Justice Center for nearly two decades, including as Director of the Immigrant Women and Children Project and the Cancer Advocacy Project. She is currently Co-Director of the Immigrant Justice Project. Over the years, she has helped more than a thousand immigrant survivors of violence, and has been a critical voice in the larger local, national, and international conversation about human trafficking and violence. She has participated in delegations to Warsaw and Brussels, and lectured on the topic across the United States and abroad, including in Canada, Venezuela, Mongolia, Mexico and the Philippines. At the local level, she actively participates in multiple anti-trafficking task forces, including the Brooklyn DA’s Human Trafficking Task Force. She has trained pro bono attorneys, judges, community-based organizations, health-care providers, law enforcement and government officials on human trafficking. 

Ms. Tomatore received her J.D. from the CUNY Law School, and her Bachelors in Sociology and Women’s Studies from CUNY as well.

Read more
Program Directors

Akira Arroyo
Director of the Neighborhood Entrepreneur Law Project aarroyo@nycbar.org

Vivienne Duncan
Director of the Cancer Advocacy & Elderlaw Projects vduncan@nycbar.org

Kent Eiler
Director of the Veterans Assistance Project keiler@nycbar.org

Cat Itaya
Director of the Federal Pro Se Legal Assistance Project citaya@nycbar.org

Jennifer Kim
Co-Director of the Immigrant Justice Project jkim@nycbar.org

K. Scott Kohanowski
Director of the Foreclosure and LGBT Advocacy Projects skohanowski@nycbar.org

Ramona Morel
Director of the Consumer Bankruptcy Project rmorel@nycbar.org

Lisa Pearlstein
Director of the Legal Clinic for the Homeless lpearlstein@nycbar.org

Christopher Schwartz
Deputy Director of the Legal Hotline cschwartz@nycbar.org

Suzanne Tomatore
Co-Director of the Immigrant Justice Project stomatore@nycbar.org

Libby Vazquez
Director of the Legal Hotline and Planning & Estates Law Project lvazquez@nycbar.org

Administration

Kurt M. Denk
Pro Bono Counsel kdenk@nycbar.org

Erika Lawrenson
Administrative Manager elawrenson@nycbar.org