Justice Center News

The Justice Center News blog features our advocacy on issues affecting low-income New Yorkers today and the latest CBJC happenings.  For press releases, click here. For publications, click here.

CBJC Honors Outstanding Volunteers at the Jeremy G. Epstein Awards

by CBJC Staff October 25, 2017

The City Bar Justice Center launched National Pro Bono Week on Monday, October 23rd with the annual Jeremy G. Epstein Awards for Outstanding Pro Bono Service.  The awards were established in honor of the late Jeremy G. Epstein, the prominent litigator and pro bono champion who logged over 5,000 hours of pro bono and public service over 20 years. He was a partner at Shearman & Sterling LLP and a board member at the City Bar Justice Center, The Legal Aid Society and the Fund for Modern Courts.

Each year, the Epstein Awards honor the outstanding volunteer attorneys in each City Bar Justice Center project. Honorees are selected based on the quality of their legal work, outcome accomplished for clients, and willingness to take on challenging cases, among other criteria.

New York City Bar Association President John S. Kiernan gave the opening remarks and the keynote address was delivered by Alan S. Goudiss and Adam S. Hakki, partners at Shearman & Sterling LLP and colleagues of the late Jeremy G. Epstein. In a testament to the firm’s commitment to pro bono, Shearman & Sterling fielded a team including Goudiss, Hakki, and Epstein working tirelessly for decades to vacate the death sentence of a man with an intellectual disability. City Bar Fund Chair Robert F. Cusumano presented the awards to the volunteers.

The 2017 Epstein Honorees alongside John S. Kiernan, Robert F. Cusumano, and Lynn M. Kelly.

2017 Jeremy G. Epstein Award Individual Honorees

Jasmine M. Campirides, Steptoe & Johnson LLP
Kurt M. Denk, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
Brenna K. DeVaney, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Bridget La Rosa, Fox Rothschild LLP
John Powers, Crédit Agricole CIB
Oscar S. Straus III, Solo Practitioner
Jessica Winchell, Deutsche Bank Securities Inc.

2017 Jeremy G. Epstein Award Team Honorees

CBS Team: Patrick Turner, CBS Corporation; Eric Hochstadt and Jennifer Ramos, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

DLA Piper Team: John Guarin, Lauren Manton, Maria Matos, Kira Mineroff, Paolo Morante, Michelle Sadowsky, Emily Sanders, Marta Segimon, R. Brian Seibert, Tomasita Sherer, Michael Shin, and Hayley Yandoli

Norton Rose Fulbright Team: Thomas Hall, Nicholas Chandler, Nathaniel Putnam, Matthew Lamb, Thomas Commons, Darayl Levy, and Stacey Trimmer

Shearman & Sterling LLP: Antonia E. Stolper, the Americas Regional Managing Partner, accepted the award on behalf of the firm.

City Bar Fund Board Chair Robert Cusumano and Amy Epstein


Epstein Honoree Oscar Straus III and guests

Thank you to the loved ones, colleagues, and access to justice supporters who helped celebrate these exemplary honorees.

Recent posts