City Bar Justice Center Announces Winners of Second Annual Jeremy G. Epstein Awards for Pro Bono Service

The City Bar Justice Center, the pro bono affiliate of the New York City Bar, has announced the winners of the second annual Jeremy G. Epstein Awards for Pro Bono Service. Honoring volunteer lawyers for outstanding work on Justice Center projects, the awards will be presented at a Celebration of Service reception on Monday, October 25th, as part of National Pro Bono Week.

This year’s winners are:

Burke Blackman, Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP

John Schmitt, Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP

Mara Byrne, Citigroup

James Cassidy, Adams & Salter LLP

Robert Gingher, Dickstein Shapiro LLP

Daniel Gomez, Verizon

Katharine Parker, Proskauer Rose LLP

Maia Ridberg, Covington & Burling LLP

David Rubin, Golenbock Eiseman Assor Bell & Peskoe LLP

Heidi Schmid, Linklaters

Terry Wells, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Sidney H. Stein, United States District Judge for the Southern District of New York, will deliver a keynote address, and Austin T. Fragomen, Jr., City Bar Fund Board Chair, will present the awards. City Bar President Samuel W. Seymour and City Bar Justice Center Executive Director Lynn M. Kelly, will also speak.

“Pro bono service is indispensable in making access to justice available for all New Yorkers,”said Lynn Kelly. “The City Bar Justice Center relies on volunteer lawyers, and the talent and insight they bring to each project. We are pleased to be able to recognize some of the outstanding lawyers giving back to help needy New Yorkers.”

What: Jeremy G. Epstein Awards for Pro Bono Service

When: Monday, October 25, 2010, 6 PM – 7:30 PM

Where: New York City Bar Association, 42 West 44th Street

Co-Sponsored by the New York City Bar’s Pro Bono and Legal Services Committee

Invitation only. Media welcome.