Justice Center News

The Justice Center News blog features our advocacy on issues affecting low-income New Yorkers today and the latest CBJC happenings.  For press releases, click here. For publications, click here.

Justice Center Honors Winners of Third Annual Jeremy G. Epstein Awards for Pro Bono Service

by CBJC Staff October 25, 2011

At a ceremony Monday, the City Bar Justice Center honored the winners of the third annual Jeremy G. Epstein Awards for Pro Bono Service.

Epstein Award Winners

Richard Bernardo, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP; Sean Porter, Dechert LLP; Hugh Hill, Hogan Lovells LLP; Aviania Iliadis, Latham Watkins; Rene Kathawala, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP; Robert B. Fiske Jr., Senior Counsel, Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP, keynote speaker; Samuel W. Seymour, President, New York City Bar

William Lang, Nixon Peabody LLP; Ben Kusmin, Cooley LLP; Kristopher Brown, Dechert LLP; Vasilios Angelos; Natalie Shimmel Drucker, Simpson Thacher/Goldman Sachs; Jay Holtmeier, Chair, City Bar Fund and Partner, WilmerHale; (not pictured: Deirdre Kessler; Jae Kim, Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP)

View more photos of the awards ceremony here.

Robert B. Fiske Jr. , Senior Counsel, Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP, delivered the keynote address and Jay Holtmeier, City Bar Fund Board Chair and Partner at WilmerHale, presented the awards. City Bar President Samuel W. Seymour and Justice Center Executive Director Lynn Kelly provided introductory and closing remarks, respectively.

Jeremy G. Epstein , who passed away in May 2009, was a partner at Shearman & Sterling LLP and a board member at the City Bar Justice Center, The Legal Aid Society and the Fund for Modern Courts. He logged over 5,000 hours of pro bono and public service over the last 20 years.

Recent posts